It’s all about the little things,such as your kid sister!

The earliest memories I have of childhood,are of my mom and dad telling me that I’m going to have a sibling soon.The hospital visit thus on 5th November 1990, gave me a feeling of hope and excitement to finally get to see my little gift.And this I walked into my mother’s room,and from then on although I have no recollection of the events mom says I saw my baby sister and threw the ball at her! Now the ball didn’t hit her,and it was one of those big,plastic yellow ones with less bounce,and how good could a one and a half year old aim anyways,but it’s probably when I knew that this little thing was going to make a difference in my life!

The years flew by and I learnt some important stuff like sharing clothes to food and parents,the small to big arguments and then the loud MOM!! from the both of us,I remember birthdays , graduation,reading books,sharing secrets and so on.What I didn’t realise until much later was that how this same little one could sometimes prove more wise , Intelligent, and braver than I was.

Last year was a difficult year for the both of us,probably a tad more for the younger one since hers and dad’s birthday was on the same day for 26 years.And the first birthday without him was taking a toll on our family.Hence in true elder sister spirit I decided to do something small for the same little but big sister to make her at least smile on her special day.

And what better way to do so than take the help of Harry Potter and the wizarding world to prove that it takes a little bit of light to brighten the dark ess.

Happiness is found even in the darkest of times if one remembers to turn on the light!-Albus Dumbledore.

Here was the little list done

1.A surprise Harry Potter themed cake

This was by my new friend at Sugarlicious,who I think did a splendid job of putting thought to paper and enfolding it into a beautiful cake.

With the golden snitch,Bertie Botts every flavoured beans,Hogwarts crest,magic wand,platform 93/4 ticket,sorting hat and her essential black and yellow Hufflepuff scarf,this made my sister’s day.

2.Gryffindor scarf for being the brave,kind soul when we faced troubles and dementors of our kinds.

3.The boxed library set of Hogwarts with her all time favourites of The Tales of Beedle the Bard, Quidditch through the ages and Fantastic Beasts and where to find them.

All in all all three little things made my very sad sister a little less sad on her birthday,and I was glad to have pulled off the surprise without many hiccups.Your sibling on most days maybe the most irritating pest around,but when you are down, ill,angry or sad it’s these same little big people who can bring a smile to your sad face,the light in the dark,this was for all the times she did it for me,I was glad I could find the light for her too.

Leave a Reply

