Click away!

When was the last time you moved away from your phone at the dinner table and had a chat with your family?Last week,last month or maybe you don’t remember!Truth being I may have done it quite a few times myself! This same one sided ignorance has also been termed in the dictionary as “phubbing” ,yes it’s a term!

Technology over the years has evolved by leaps and bounds,in just my life span I’ve been privy to Doordarshan,tapes,flip disk’s and cassettes to CDs and to now a movie of 1950 which I can download and watch on my phone.True it’s made things faster,simpler,more compact but along the way it’s nicked and bitten at family time, relationships and even hobbies if you will.Long gone are the times when at birthdays dad would pull out the camera and say cheese,or before you go to prom or just your friends place,and your parents said “Honey,you look amazing can I have a picture?”

These days most people take a selfie,a self taken picture to capture perfect smiles and makeup! But alas! the moment passed just a minute prior, with other people doesn’t get as much importance as “selfie time”.

Memories and photographs are two things you can never have enough of! The subway ticket of your first ride, first day of school,the odd smiles at a birthday party,even making your first cake,all of these precious moments remained confined to the mind,hidden away in a small storage cabinet just waiting to be discovered.Its these very stories that one can return to when gloom and destruction come knocking at the door.

As someone once said you never know the value of something until it’s truly gone,friends ,family or otherwise,and its these very regrets that bring daily life stuck in the same boring rut.

Dad was a brilliant photographer,and his pictures even of a very tiny, naughty, moving me are way more better crafted than those I can capture with multiple futile attempts on a high end digital camera today.Photoalbums,the long gone slam books are something I feel everyone should have to cherish,they can be the most beautiful things of the past someday! I’ve recently realised how less I truly love life,and live like it’s no tomorrow,just getting busy with routine work does pull you down.All said my latest conquest a point and shoot camera is high on my list to capture and store the smallest moments of happiness that I can,the baby kittens at home,mom humming away in the kitchen,the little sister’s pretty face in those candid moments,the sole Lily of the valley blooming in the garden and so much more!Regret on point being that I need to extract a little more of life and its these everyday moments,too which I can hold onto for posterity,and what simpler way to do so, than in a photograph!!

Like Ed Sheeran hums in one of my all time favourite songs “Photograph”

“We keep this love in a photograph
We made these memories for ourselves
Where our eyes are never closing
Hearts are never broken
Times forever frozen still

So you can keep me
Inside the pocket
Of your ripped jeans
Holdin’ me closer
‘Til our eyes meet
You won’t ever be alone
Wait for me to come home”

Hence a new years resolution of sorts was made this year,one to breathe in the moments,enjoy every meal,every chat,every smile and to take pauses for a wee bit of time and take that photo,it may not be the most picturesque one or the most beautiful,but I hope that in the near future when I may lose something of mine,memories or otherwise,I can still look back and maybe relive that stupendous click of that day!

This pic was of my first ever performance in school,clicked by most my most favourite person the world ..Dad! The smiles and the art of posing was nothing like I may ever do for a while!

Leave a Reply

